Top 25 charity chief executives on social media announced

22 Nov 2019 News

Polly Neate, chief executive of Shelter, was named as the winner of #SocialCEOs last night.

Polly Neate of Shelter was named the charity chief executive with the best social media presence at the Social CEO Awards last night.

The awards are now in their seventh year. This year Dalton Leong from The Children’s Trust, Kate Lee from Clic Sargent and Micheal Sheridan from The Mercy Foundation were also among those to make the list.

The awards were founded by Zoe Amar and Matt Collins, who both run digital marketing agencies that work with charities.

Neate has previously spoken about her experience of trolling on social media.

She said: "As somebody else said I just joined social media to be me... being you is the only thing that no-one else can do. Thank you I really appreciate it."

Matt Collins said that Neate had won the overall award because she "owns her voice" on social media. 

Kristiana Wrixon, from ACEVO, won the best leader category, with Kirsty McNeill from Save the Children UK being highly commended.

The best digital leader was Emily Casson from Cats Protection and the best digital chief executive was Helen O'Donnell, from Children's University.

The judging panel included Simon Blake, chief executive of Mental Health First Aid (MHFA) England, Kate Collins, chief executive of Teenage Cancer Trust, Sarah Hughes, chief executive of the Centre for Mental Health, Alison Lowe, chief executive of Touchstone, Vicky Browning, chief executive of ACEVO, Julie Dodd, director of digital transformation and communication at Parkinson’s UK, and Yas Georgiou, head of digital engagement at GOSH. 

Kate Collins, who won the overall award last year, said that getting the award "gave us a real rallying point" at Teenage Cancer Trust and that her colleagues were really "chuffed" about the award. 

Top 25 social CEOs

  1. Matthew Hodson, NAM,  @matthew_hodson
  2. Mark Russell, The Children’s Society, @markrusselluk
  3. Kim Shutler, The Cellar Trust, @kimshutler
  4. Louise Macdonald, Young Scot, @louisemac
  5. Jon Arnold, Tiny Tickers, @jonmarnold
  6. Kate Lee, Clic Sargent, @kateleeceo
  7. Kathy Evans, Children England, @kathy_ceo_ce
  8. Karen Pollock, Holocaust Educational Trust, @karenpollock100
  9. Deborah Alsina, Independent Age, @deborahalsina
  10. Dalton Leong, The Children’s Trust, @daltonleong
  11. Aleema Shivji, Humanity and Inclusion UK, @aleemashivji
  12. Ben Vulliamy, YUSU (University of York Students Union), @bvulliamy
  13. Rosie Tressler, Student Minds, @rosietressler
  14. Rob Murray, Cancer Support Scotland, @robmurray11
  15. Javed Khan, Barnardo’s, @javedkhanceo
  16. Raji Hunjan, Zacchaeus 2000 Trust (ZTK), @rajihunjan
  17. Micheal Sheridan, The Mercy Foundation, @michealsheridan
  18. Nicola Brentnall, The Queen’s Commonwealth Trust, @nicolabrentnall
  19. Thomas Lawson, Turn2Us, @thomasjlawson
  20. Anthony R Hamilton, Celtic FC Foundation, @polishturnstile
  21. Tracey Bleakley, Hospice UK, @traceybleakley
  22. Michelle Hill, TLC: Talk, Listen, Change, @tlcceo_michelle
  23. Girish Menon, Action Aid UK, @GirishMenonAAUK
  24. Ava Easton, Encephalitis Society, @encephalitisava  
  25. Polly Neate, Shelter, @pollyn1
For more news, interviews, opinion and analysis about charities and the voluntary sector sign up to receive the Civil Society News daily bulletin here

 

 

More on

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Read our policy here.