Wellcome Trust director knighted as part of New Year Honours list

02 Jan 2019 News

Professor Jeremy Farrar credit: The Francis Crick Institute / Dave Guttridge

The director of medical research funder The Wellcome Trust has been awarded a knighthood for services to global health, as part of the 2019 New Year Honours List.

Professor Jeremy Farrar, director of The Wellcome Trust, was recognised for his services to global medicine with a knighthood. He had been awarded an OBE in 2005 for his work on tropical medicine. He joined The Wellcome Trust in 2013, from the Oxford University Clinical Research Unit in Vietnam. 

Professor Melvyn Greaves, a director of the Centre for Evolution and Cancer at the Institute of Cancer Research, was also awarded a knighthood for services to childhood leukaemia research. 

A number of other charity sector professionals were recognised in the New Year Honours List, which was published by the Cabinet Office on 28 December 2018.

These included David Bragg, founder of Send a Cow, who received an OBE for services to charity; Helen Pankhurst, senior adviser at Care International, who was awarded a CBE for services to gender equality and Mark Waddington, chief executive of Hope and Homes for Children, who was awarded a CBE for services global child protection. 

Four people from the Department for International Development, and a number of British Red Cross volunteers with more than 170 years’ experience between them, were also amongst those honoured.  

Chris Berry was awarded an MBE for services to developing Sierra Leone’s education services, having worked in the country for DFID during its Ebola outbreak between 2014 and 2016; Vicky Stanger was awarded an MBE for services to international development, recognising her role in DFID’s response to South Sudan’s famine; while Jeff Tudor was awarded an OBE for services to international development, recognising his work with DFID in Jordan and in Burma with the Rohingya. 

The four British Red Cross volunteers who were recognised were Lesley Smith, who was awarded an MBE and Margaret Dickson, Colin Moffat and David Taylor, who all received the British Empire Medal. 

Lucy Findlay, the founding managing director of Social Enterprise Mark CIC, was awarded an MBE for services to social enterprise; while Derek Harris, a mental health campaigner and member of Mind’s Retail Board, was awarded an OBE for his voluntary work. 

Sylvia Holder, founder of education charity The Venkatraman Memorial Trust, was also awarded a British Empire Medal for her charitable work. 

The full list of recipients can be read here

For more news, interviews, opinion and analysis about charities and the voluntary sector sign up to receive the Civil Society News daily bulletin here



More on